Home > Stories From Small Town > Life Happens Plus a Great Interview

Life Happens Plus a Great Interview

My plan was to have a blog post out this weekend but life got in the way. My mother broke her knee, which is a long story and hers to tell, but I spent eight hours Friday in the emergency room. We had a delightful doctor who smiled, laughed, and was an incredibly cool guy. What a difference it makes when someone is so full of life and cheerfulness.

This is really only a quick note to send you to the interview I had with Aaron Heyntsen at Criminal Justice School Info. Aaron read the paperback of Bad Luck Cadet & Bad Luck Officer and asked great questions about some of the experiences I had at the academy and my first two years as an officer.

Blog Post Introduction

Interview

I answered one question with a not so politically correct answer and I worried it would be cut. Aaron explained the importance of keeping things real for potential students looking for a career in the law enforcement profession. I really appreciate his thinking but most of all his dedication to his career which he takes beyond the call of duty (in my opinion).

Yes, I swear I’m working on the third Bad Luck book and a blog post for next week. This picture of me is one of a group I took two years ago at the advanced age of 49. I like this picture because it shows my laugh lines and simple joy for life. The problem is, I look in the mirror now and see how much I’ve aged in the past two years. I must get updated photos so no one meets me and thinks I’m hiding behind a very old picture. Unfortunately, my highly skilled expensive photographer broke her knee and is laid up for a few months. Such is life :-)

  1. September 24, 2012 at 7:13 am

    Here’s hoping your mom heals quickly. Always good to read a new post, that was a great interview. Sending you love!

    • September 24, 2012 at 7:41 am

      Taking love, squeezing hard and heading out the door for work. It’s Monday and I’m stuck in meetings all day.

  2. September 24, 2012 at 7:26 am

    Suzie,

    Two of the folks close to you break their knees.

    Is there something you’re not telling us?

    You bin learning Savate?

    Healing thoughts to both Mom and Tog:)

    brendan

    • September 24, 2012 at 7:40 am

      Only my mom broke her knee. You confused me (that’s not hard to do) so I went back and checked the email I sent you. Only my poor mom :-) I don’t think I could handle anyone else unless it was me and I got months off work to write.

  3. September 24, 2012 at 7:29 am

    Your poor mom! Sending hugs and wishes for a speedy recovery her way…and more hugs to you. And yes, that is a lovely picture of you, but I suspect a new one will be just as lovely…there will only be more laugh lines, that’s all. ;)

    • September 24, 2012 at 7:41 am

      Oh I definitely have more laugh lines, thanks.

  4. Muddah
    September 24, 2012 at 7:33 am

    So sorry to hear about your Mom’s knee! Hopefully as spunky as she must be, she will be up and around soon! Please tell her I hope she heals quickly.

    Great interview! I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to reading the new book!

    I know what you mean about comparing past and present pictures. But you look so much younger than 49 in this picture – I’m betting you still don’t look your age. One thing I have learned as I have gotten older – don’t look down into a mirror if it’s flat on the bathroom counter. Blech! Ha!

    • September 24, 2012 at 7:42 am

      Thank you for that bit of wisdom, I will never look down at a mirror again :-)

  5. September 24, 2012 at 7:48 am

    Sorry to hear about your mom’s knee — but I agree, one doctor’s (or any person’s) attitude can make or break a day. I absolutely love your new photo, and I know what you mean about worrying that someone will think you’re hiding behind an old photo. Me too! Off to read the interview . . .

    • September 24, 2012 at 6:57 pm

      I’m like most women and hate having my photo taken but I shall persevere.

      • September 24, 2012 at 7:07 pm

        Suzie,

        Almost everyone who is not a professional model or a child, hates having their picture taken. Some, no, a LOT of women ruin pictures by attempting cutesy by rolling their head to one side or another. During my years as a professional photographer, I nearly went crazy telling female models to stand up straight and keep their heads straight.

        You’ve got that one right. You look good. Lightings right, good shot, good definition and decent colour saturation. You look good, and you’re smiling, but not cutesy. It’s a good portrait by _any_ standard.

        Sometimes, you can get over the photo phobia by simply thinking…..”oh, I just have to do this, because I’m going to be a famous writer and it is part of the deal.” That works with some folks, sometimes it’s simply the exercise of having close to 5,000 images a day that knocks down the wall of the ego, and the model will relax.

        It’s not easy, but that’s a good shot. It has everything just right. I might have tried a different background, and maybe used a pot from the top, but that would be in a studio. Outside it’s a different affair. Try not to make backgrounds the subject, even when you use the rule of thirds. Were you using a gold reflector?

        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rule_of_thirds

        brendan

      • September 24, 2012 at 7:21 pm

        You ask these questions like I could possibly have a clue what a gold reflector is. Your faith in my intelligence is flattering. I stood and moved where my mom wanted me, took off my glasses because she told me too and smiled, sulked, and used my mean angry face because she wouldn’t just get it over with. I’m a very poor subject but she just told me to shut up and stop closing my eyes. The sun was of course to her back, the tyrant. Aren’t you glad you’re not photographing me?

        I do like the part about being the famous writer someday so I’m printing it and sleeping with it under my pillow. If it crinkles and wakes me up all night causing dark circles under my eyes, it’s your fault.

  6. September 24, 2012 at 8:42 am

    Great interview! Can’t wait to read your next book.

    • September 24, 2012 at 6:58 pm

      Thank you for dropping in Shary now back to writing :-)

  7. evergreeneden
    September 24, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    Love the interview! (I think the “post intro” link might be broken btw?) He asked you every question I wanted to ask when I read your books… and even a couple more I thought were great. Thank you – as I always say – for sharing your thoughts and your usually hilarious, sometimes devastating, but always entertaining and real, with all of us civies! ;) xoxo

    • evergreeneden
      September 24, 2012 at 3:13 pm

      Oh, and hugs and prayers for your sweet Mamacita from Eden, your most …unique, reader. :)

      • September 24, 2012 at 7:26 pm

        I lied, I am commenting on another of your comments :-) I went over to your blog and now I want a reason for your lack of blogging these last months. Get with it woman and let me know when you do!!!

    • evergreeneden
      September 24, 2012 at 3:17 pm

      Oh no! Really? A THIRD comment? Sorry, got a *very* squirmy baby in my lap. :) Not complaining though. I just wanted to fix that first comment and finish my run-on sentence! Haha, so what I meant was, “…entertaining and real *experiences*, with all of us civies.”

      • September 24, 2012 at 7:01 pm

        You are so funny and I’m only answering your third comment. You know I was a civie for longer than you are old (or young). Thank you for coming by!

  8. September 24, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    Love you! Love your picture! Loved the interview! Truly inspiring for anyone ‘on the fence’ who thinks they may have missed the boat. You are the poster child for letting the 40-somethings know it’s never too late to follow your dreams. You know how I feel about all of you. If I had it to do over again…..I’d be right there with you, my friend. ♥

    • September 24, 2012 at 7:02 pm

      You know I think of you as my Angel Annie :-)

  9. September 24, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    Nice picture! Miss seeing new posts from you. Did you get my message awhile back that I finally figured out how to add you to my blog roll? You are now on there—-take a look!

    • September 24, 2012 at 7:05 pm

      I know exactly how to add you to my blog roll but my excuse is faulty memory. I’ll add you first and then peek in at your site. I WILL REMEMBER!

  10. September 25, 2012 at 8:55 am

    Suzie – Wonderful interview! So looking forward to reading book 3 – hint, hint. Hugs to your mother. Wishing her a speedy recovery. Maybe she could do a guest post and explain how she broke it?

    Now about that phone call you promised…

    • September 25, 2012 at 6:02 pm

      I know, I know, and I promise I’ll call! I thought life slowed down when you got older.

  11. September 25, 2012 at 10:11 am

    I would like to wish your mother a very quick recovery, too, Suzie. My mom had knee replacement, and I helped in her recuperation period. I am happy to announce she has healed. :)

    I LOVE, love your picture, and if I may, you are beautiful! So there!

    I am anxiously waiting for your next book. So get those fingers cracking, Amiga!

    Mucho love and BIG hugs,
    ~Virginia

    • September 25, 2012 at 6:04 pm

      My fingers are heading to work on the next book right now. How is your menopause project coming? I want my comments to be famous some day!

  12. September 26, 2012 at 8:53 am

    So sorry about mom. Ugh. Mine still not doing too hot. Heart still out of whack; may have to be shocked back into rhythm. So hard to be SO far away, though not much I can do. (and yes, good doctors make all the difference).

    Just read the intro and now off to read your Q/A. Hang in there, woman!

    • September 26, 2012 at 9:02 am

      You too, when things settle down we need another adventure topped off with a dose of margaritas!

  13. Christine Grote
    October 1, 2012 at 10:03 am

    I read the interview (can’t remember if I commented there or not). Just wanted to mention I love the new picture of you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,296 other followers

