Home > Life In Blue > The Wrong Message

The Wrong Message

At this moment, I’m not my happy, humorous self. I’m angry. You might even say… I’M PISSED OFF!

I’m talking about the Steubenville, Ohio rape case. The one where this past week we’ve been subjected to the two young men who raped the unconscious young woman, and now are breaking down in tears. We’ve seen and heard the media speak about their lives being ruined.

PLEASE!

My post is about the victim, the girl who stood up against a town, a media blitz, her school, and many of her classmates.

I’ve sat in court and witnessed what victims go through. I’ve seen the pain and humiliation cast upon them. I’ve held the hands of victims while the pictures of their vagina and anus are shown in an open courtroom. I’ve sat still, controlling my tears while they’ve been up on the stand, looking into the eyes of suspects’ families and friends that hate them, and explained, in minute detail, about their sexual assault.

What about the Steubenville victim? Who is telling her story at the top of the page?tears

I’ve read the L.A.Times article. Keep reading… Towards the bottom of the Times deatribe you’ll find information that mentions the victim. You’ll see how she discovered her rape and the uphill battle she faced to prosecute the guilty.

Or better yet, the heartrending dialog on CNN to build sympathy for the rapists.

On the other hand, I appreciated the article by The New Yorker that pointed out the other suspects that have gone unpunished and the many blog posts that fight for this victim and all survivors of sexual assault. 

Today, two more juveniles were arrested. After the judge imposed sentencing, two girls sent out Twitter messages including death threats and promised to assault the victim  Hmm, still no prosecution for the one’s actually involved but these two are seeing a little juvenile detention time.

I taught my children that everyone present at a crime, can be charged. I wasn’t a police officer then.

Moms and dads, have a very long and serious talk with your children. Send out the RIGHT MESSAGE.

Juvenile witnesses of the rape stated they did nothing because the boys were only having sex and not “hurting” the victim. I cry BULLSHIT! These “witnesses” should be charged.

I know there are good adults and upstanding young men and women that did the right thing in this case. I thank you for your willingness to stand against evil (yes I said EVIL).

My words for the victim: I cry for every minute you’ve suffered and the horrible trial you’ve been subjected to. I cry for the years of pain ahead of you. But, I also have hope that you will fight through this and succeed in life. You will teach your daughters about strength and courage. Who better than you! I have hope that your sons will be different types of men and even as teenagers they will respect everyone regardless of gender but most of all respect themselves.

I pray that you and your family find peace.

Categories: Life In Blue
  1. mommafargo
    March 20, 2013 at 9:34 am

    Great post. You are truly a rare crusader for victims. You are an asset to your community.

  2. March 20, 2013 at 10:02 am

    Suzie, I love you. I don’t have much else to add, except that I think you would love this friend and this post: Steubenville’s Jane Doe asked people to do something…. | Meizac. She’s written more about it, but that should get you started. She’s a courageous lady, just like you, and a very dear friend of mine, just like you.

  3. March 20, 2013 at 10:18 am

    Great post and I share your outrage. I am thinking of doing a post myself. There are a lot more guilty people that have yet to be punished and I hope they are. Those who watched and encouraged and video’d and took photos are all guilty too! They should not only be ashamed but should also be punished.

    • March 20, 2013 at 6:05 pm

      I’ve read several blogs today that aren’t letting this case rest, HOORAY!!! We bloggers also have a voice and I absolutely think you need to write yours and be heard. Things will only change if we push the issue and insist on justice.

  4. March 20, 2013 at 10:41 am

    Reblogged this on Meizac and commented:
    I have nothing….

    • March 20, 2013 at 6:02 pm

      Thank you “future” Doctor Mommy for the reblog. I’m loving your blog!

  5. March 20, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    Suzie – Thank you for being there, for holding the hands of victims and bearing witness to their testimony, for all you do as a sex crime detective. Just reading the vile tweets by these teens makes me want to throw up.

    I agree. Any who witnessed to the crimes and did nothing were enablers. Male or female, they need to be charged. A signal needs to be sent that.

    • March 20, 2013 at 5:59 pm

      I agree and it needs to be a very strong signal!

  6. March 20, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    Don’t know if you saw this article —

    http://www.xojane.com/issues/steubenville-rape-verdict-alexandria-goddard

    I AM THE BLOGGER WHO ALLEGEDLY “COMPLICATED” THE STEUBENVILLE GANG RAPE CASE — AND I WOULDN’T CHANGE A THING

    • March 20, 2013 at 5:58 pm

      Thank you Linda, This woman used social media in an incredible way and we can all learn lessons from her refusal to keep quiet.

  7. March 20, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    As always, well said! I am so proud of that young girl for standing up. I totally agree that the “witnesses” who did nothing should be charged as accomplices. I also think that the adults who aided this type of behavior with alcohol etc should be charged as well.

    • March 20, 2013 at 5:54 pm

      I’m with you all the way Heather!

  8. March 21, 2013 at 4:41 am

    Suzie This http://tinyurl.com/a575ep9 is a recent UK case so it is a widespread problem. Could have been even worse http://tinyurl.com/btdjxo7

    • March 21, 2013 at 6:43 am

      Oh John, This case is devastating but if anyone out there wonders what a victim goes through and feels, they need to read this. Thank you for bringing it to my attention. This is seriously a world wide problem.

  9. Frank Karl
    March 21, 2013 at 7:14 am

    Well said. Steubenville, Ohio is one of those little towns that the local sports figures can do nothing wrong. It’s amazing how success in sports seems to be the measure of value in our society.

    stay safe……..
    Frank

    • March 21, 2013 at 5:08 pm

      I also have sports stories from my small town. Steroids, running around naked, and bullying every day at the front doors of the school in plain view of staff. I hate to focus on one sport but just the word “football” seems to cause blindness.

  10. March 21, 2013 at 9:24 am

    Glad to see you weigh in on this one. The madness needs to end somehow.

    I suspect the brave young woman will eventually be fine. She’s already proven what she’s made of. Good for her.

  11. March 21, 2013 at 10:51 am

    Suzy, Thanks for posting what we are thinking. As a law enforcement leader, it disappoints me to think about the numerous reasons those in authority failed to immediately address this case.
    As a dad it saddens me to know the pain this child suffered, and will continue to carry with her. I pray that through adversity, God will bless her with with a depth of compassion and healing that leads to a completeness of life.
    Thanks again for getting, staying and posting pissed off.

    • March 21, 2013 at 5:01 pm

      I believe your willingness to add “dad” in the mix makes you so wonderful. Living in a very small town, politics is huge though no excuse. With the deplorable use of social media in this case, I also think of the good. These boys would have gone on to their next victim if the outcry wasn’t loud and horrifying. My anger went to a new level after reading the link left by John Wood in his comment. Rape cases, the trials, and the re-victimization of the wounded is a universal problem. The fight goes on and you and I Scott, along with many more, will carry the torch.

      • March 21, 2013 at 7:36 pm

        Suzy, some people carry torches, you tote the bonfire!!! I’ve learned after 23 years of policing to bury my emotions, but this; your piece has fueled that fire of feelings.
        Sometimes the fraternity of policing does great work, other times public service is tainted by personal agendas, political ambitions and just a lack of giving a s*#@.
        Victims of child abuse, rape and DV weigh heavy on my heart. It is our moral obligation to press the fight Suzy, and I’m glad we are on the same team.

        WildWillows: reading your comment gives me hope for this young girl. You are a blessing and your prayer’s for victims touch the heart of Christ. Thank you & God bless you for sharing.

  12. March 21, 2013 at 3:42 pm

    My dear friend Suzy I couldn’t have written a better post! I too was a victim of rape as a teenager by a family friend and as a result of that I tried to commit suicide just for the mere fact that some people would call me a liar or worse! I also didn’t want to have to go thru the nightmare over and over, but I had to anyways. It takes a lot of courage to report rape and a lot of strength to overcome it!!!! I will be praying for that young woman and I hope that the perps go to prison and learn how being raped really feels.

    • March 21, 2013 at 4:52 pm

      Oh Teri, you touch my heart. Neither reporting or not reporting is an easy road. Knowing what I know, I truly wonder if I could. I like to think I’d be strong enough but until we wear those shoes (I pray I never do) I’m just not sure. Maybe that’s why I cheer so loud for those who do.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,245 other followers

