Home > Bad Luck Update > Bad Luck Update: The Summer Grind

Bad Luck Update: The Summer Grind

Summer’s here, I’m busy, and life swirls by faster than I can keep track of. I’ve been informed I will be a grandma again later this year. I know I should feel older but for some reason I don’t. I think grandkids keep me young and remind me there is life outside of the police department.

I know everyone (I may be exaggerating here) is impatiently awaiting the next Bad Luck book. The darn thing is 50% written and sits on the edge of my consciousness constantly. I’m also getting emails about the pink handcuff tour which will coincide with the book’s release. At some point, I need to sit down and work on Bad Luck in Small Town and I will, I promise, I really do!

I did manage to get in a wonderful vacation to Vegas and California’s wine country. We spent an afternoon in Murphys sampling too much wine. Nope, I wasn’t driving so was able to over imbibe. I discovered, as much as I love sweet red wines, I’m not a fan of desert wines. I guess liquid cake is just not my thing.

Being Naughty Again

Being Naughty Again

I received a call from my daughter a few weeks ago, after my 15-month old grandson locked her out of the house when she took the dogs outside to do their business. Bryson, the cute and lovable monster, then proceeded to crawl onto his diaper changing table and hit the emergency house alarm while his mother frantically tried to get back inside her fortress.

When the police showed up, she was holding a rock to break the back window and as you can imagine, things got a little hairy. When all was said, and done, one of the officers slipped a credit card against the locking mechanism and easily opened the door.

I’d like to thank those officers for asking question before shooting a woman armed with a rock, in the act of breaking and entering. I’d also like to thank them for improving my daughter’s home safety measures so she now owns a better lock. Bryson has no clue about the trouble he caused, but gosh, payback is a bitch, and my daughter was just like her son. I truly can’t wait until he’s a teenager and gives his mother lots of gray hair. I’m really evil that way.

Until next time, stay safe and be happy.

Suzie

Categories: Bad Luck Update
  1. June 19, 2013 at 2:05 pm

    Oh, Suzie…I am indeed impatiently awaiting the next Bad Luck installment, but how delightful to stay in touch via your blog in the meantime. Have a delightful summer, my friend, and stay safe! ((hugs))

    • June 19, 2013 at 3:42 pm

      And you have a great summer too Linda. Huge hugs back!

  2. June 19, 2013 at 5:08 pm

    Ya know…my mom use to wish me a child like I was…and I have to say I got robbed in that equation. I wish!!!! I had had a child like I was..what I got was much tougher and not deserved. LOL

    • June 19, 2013 at 6:16 pm

      Hmm, I wonder if your Mom thinks so :-)

      • June 19, 2013 at 8:16 pm

        Yes….she even admitted it. LOL It truly is a crap shoot. My son has successfully made it into adulthood despite his tribulations. lol

      • June 19, 2013 at 8:29 pm

        Good parenting eventually comes out. I said eventually :-)

  3. Heather Cobb Wynn
    June 19, 2013 at 5:16 pm

    I am TRYING to wait patiently! :-) I can only begin to guess at how crazy your life must be! Congratulations on the expected grandbaby.

    • June 19, 2013 at 6:15 pm

      They want a boy but I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a little girl. We are completely outnumbered in my family and seriously the girls need to rule.

  4. June 19, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    Looking forward to the new book! Loved this post. Stay safe, Lady! Thinking of you often!

    • June 19, 2013 at 6:14 pm

      Thanks Julie and I promise!

  5. June 19, 2013 at 6:03 pm

    The classic credit card lock defeater trick!! they must teach that in the academy. I would have chosen the rock. Glad everything turned out okay. Power through the remaining 50%!!

    Stay Blue,
    Scott

  6. Donna
    June 19, 2013 at 8:50 pm

    Congrats on expecting a new grandbaby! I am cracking up at the antics of your grandson! So glad everything worked out with no harm done. My Mama loves hearing the stories of my kiddos aggravating the snot out of me since I had that down to an art growing up. :) Paybacks are tough….who knew?!?

    Burn that midnight oil with the writing, Girl! Looking forward to the book!

    • June 19, 2013 at 9:13 pm

      Thank you Donna, grandkids are way more fun that the first go round :-)

  7. June 20, 2013 at 12:01 am

    Payback is a wonderful thing. Most of my kids are teenagers at the moment, I just hope and pray I get to see the tables turned…
    Great to keep up with your exploits as ever

    • June 20, 2013 at 5:44 am

      Thank you Russell. At my age I must admit I become more like my mother everyday and my husband more like his father. I’m looking forward to one of my daughters telling me they’re turning into me. I find complete glee in these small things.

  8. Andrea
    June 20, 2013 at 3:21 pm

    Just finished reading Bad Luck Cadet & Officer – one of only two e-books I have bought, and well worth it! Looking forward to the next installment. I feel like I know the people you write about, you write so well! My mom always wished the same for me (kids just like me) but I fooled her – never had any! LOL!

    • June 20, 2013 at 3:43 pm

      Thank you Andrea for the kind words about the books. I’d be jealous of your childless state but grandchildren have more than made up for anything my children put me through. But, back in the day (their teenage years) I would have been very jealous :-)

  9. June 21, 2013 at 5:05 am

    Bad Luck Three! Bad Luck Three! Bad Luck Three! (I’m cheering you on.) Can’t wait for the next installment. Glad you squeezed in a much needed vacation! You need to travel east next time (hint! Hint!). We even have Scuppernong (sweet Muscadine) wine.

    • June 21, 2013 at 7:07 am

      I don’t know why Scuppernong (sweet Muscadine) wine sounds good but it does. I guess I’m turning into a wine lush, I mean connoisseur. I received a fan letter from a priest yesterday (one of the nicest ever) and he’s asking about the next book too. I simply must free up time!

  10. July 3, 2013 at 6:15 am

    I’m struggling to get back into writing also. It will happen when it happens. I don’t think there is cause to rush.

    That’s too funny about your daughter, though I feel her pain. I accidentally locked myself out of the house once with a baby inside. Fortunately for me, my baby was still an infant and unable to crawl around doing havoc. I still was in a major panic to get back inside. My neighbor rescued me.

    • July 4, 2013 at 8:48 am

      I agree about writing. I’ve worked on the fiction end of things because it takes me away from real life and I’ve needed that. But… I just finished designing the cover for the new Bad Luck book and the writing mood is building :-)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,296 other followers

