Home > Stories From Small Town > A Dirty Job

A Dirty Job

messy office 2A good officer/detective should thoroughly clean their desk/office every few years even if it doesn’t need it. I finally took the plunge and did a top to bottom muck-out (quite painful really). After heavy procrastination… I donned my gloves, mask, and full body suite and got to work.

Where does all this crap come from? Was my first, second, and third question. Plus, the undertaking took longer than expected because I re-read all the notes and letters sent by wonderful people, mostly victims of crimes, who expressed their appreciation in words.

My favorite included the picture of two brothers, who, after years of physical abuse, were removed and placed in foster care and their mother and step-father prosecuted. The card, with yellow sunflowers on the front opens to simply say, “Thank you. We are happy.” The picture shows them hanging upside down from a tree and smiling for the camera.

I found two letters that didn’t fit the victim scenario. One, from the wife of a man I arrested for road rage. She thanked me for treating her husband with respect. I remember that case so well because the suspect was more concerned with his wife of twenty years worrying about him than the consequences of his actions. I asked for his wife’s cell number, and then after leaving the jail, I called her to explain the circumstances of his arrest. I think the knock upside the head he received after returning home was far worse than his night in jail and the hefty monetary fine imposed, my kind of woman!

The other note that made me smile came from a seven-year-old boy, who bit his mother several times, and then proceeded to get the better of two officers because we didn’t want to hurt him. His scrawled apology included the words, “Thank you for not tasing me.” Gosh… why didn’t we think of that?

When my cleaning was said and done, I shredded two large bags of paper, found enough single bullets to fill my gun magazine, dusted, vacuumed, and beautified my surroundings, then gave a sigh of relief that I wouldn’t repeat the painful process again for years.

*Note* The State of Arizona lost 19 heroes in the Yarnell Fire. Please pray for their friends and families. The 100 Club of Arizona sent checks for $15,000 to each family within 48-hours of this tragedy and I want to thank this incredible organization for their never-ending support of law enforcement and fire. We stand taller because of all you do!

Have a wonderful 4th of July weekend and stay safe!

  1. July 4, 2013 at 8:26 am

    This made me laugh. I don’t like cleaning out things containing tons of paper either. Good for you. The pic was perfect. It is very cool that people take the time to write you. :)

    • July 4, 2013 at 8:45 am

      I’m always amazed when someone sends a letter or note but it really makes me feel good that they took the time. Now, if I could just get up the energy to tackle my closets at home :-)

  2. July 5, 2013 at 6:17 am

    Just think of all the seeds you have planted that have changed the direction in a young man or young lady’s life. Some you may never hear from again or know what good you have done. Many people don’t take the time to sit down and write a formal thank you, but you may hear from them again. When I first moved to Charlotte, I mailed a 3-page type-written thank you note to the lady who lived next door when I was a little girl and thanked her for being such a good influence in my young life, and then I went on to name a few fond memories. 47 years later and I still think of her often.

    • July 5, 2013 at 8:38 am

      Ohhh, that is so special Annie. I am one of those that rarely takes the time to write a thank you so when I get one it’s even more heartwarming. There have been many people in my life I would love to go back and thank, I remember an English teacher who made an incredible impact. Thank you for bringing that memory back.

  3. Rhonda
    July 5, 2013 at 8:56 pm

    I love reading your blog; always leaves me with a smile.

    • July 6, 2013 at 6:39 am

      Ahhh, thank you Rhonda. You’ve given me a smile :-)

  4. July 9, 2013 at 4:00 am

    These letters are great. It must make you feel so good to receive them. And equally as good to clean up the desk

    • July 9, 2013 at 7:14 am

      Yes it does but darn it, I can’t find anything :-)

  5. July 12, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    I bet that felt great! Not just having everything cleaned but those letters that can just bring a smile to your face.

  6. July 27, 2013 at 7:04 am

    Thanks for sharing those stories. You didn’t keep any memorabilia at all?
    I’ll bet you feel like a new woman. I’m inspired to go tackle my basement. Maybe tomorrow.

  7. November 17, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    “Thank you for not tasing me.”
    That is so cute! thanks for the smile :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,266 other followers

