Home > Stories From Small Town > What Happens In Vegas Appears On My Blog

What Happens In Vegas Appears On My Blog

photoI don’t know if bad luck follows me, I make my own, or that god just knows I have a great sense of humor. Earlier this month, on a book-signing/convention trip to Vegas my journey began with marijuana and ended with marijuana.

Some readers might be saying, “Oh Suzie, what did you do?”

Seriously, I did nothing. This crap just makes for great blog posts!

I stayed in a room at the end of a long hallway. Directly across from me, the occupants of room 1599, smoked MJ the entire time I was there. We were the only two rooms at the end of the hall, and within twenty feet of approaching my door, you could smell it. Luckily, inside my room there was no odor.

It’s hard to stop being a detective and for five days I tried to get a look at my neighbors but never did. The smell was strongest when I came back to my room late at night and I think if I stood outside my room for any length of time, I would have received a second-hand induced high.

I didn’t, I swear!

After I returned from my trip, a friend asked why I didn’t notify people that I was signing books in Vegas. I’ll tell you a secret… I was petrified. It’s very difficult having an a.k.a., much less two and signing those names on books. It’s problematic enough when a reader asks to send their book to my house so I can sign and mail back. I’ve replaced several books, after giving them bad signatures, with my own copies. I now have a stack of unusable books in my closet.

At the signing event, I displayed paperbacks of Bad Luck Cadet & Officer alongside my romantic vampire fiction series, written under D’Elen McClain. My pink handcuffs sat between the two stacks and drew a lot of attention. When someone commented, I picked them up and said, “These pink handcuffs have arrested more child molesters and wife beaters than any pink handcuffs in the state of Arizona.”

True statement and I challenge anyone to prove me wrong.

So, at a predominately romance reader book signing, I sold lots of “Bad Luck” books. I’m happy to report that I managed to sign both my pen names without incident.

My closest partner/table mate at the signing was Wendy (W.L. Sexton). We actually met in the coffee shop that morning, started a conversation, and were friends before we walked out. As luck would have it, we were assigned side-by-side seats out of two hundred authors in attendance. Fate!

A few sales people approached and gave their, “Author, I can do this and this and this for you,” speech. Some were interesting and some not so much. One thirtyish dark haired woman, made my ivy sense kick into overdrive. I knew her and it wasn’t in a good way. She stopped giving her spiel to Wendy, turned to me and said, “I know you from somewhere.”

It clicked. I did know her and remembered arresting years ago.

“I recognize you too, I’m a police detective from Small Town, Arizona.”

Her sales pitch flew out the window and she left before Wendy or I could blink. I explained to Wendy that this was the reason my husband never argues when I take my gun everywhere. I was gunless at the signing and felt completely naked.

I woke up at 5am my final morning and decided to enjoy some quiet time, look through email, and drink some coffee at the outdoor café. Within five minutes of sitting down, a 65ish, older man joined me.

“How are you this morning?” he asked.

I’m 52, hadn’t bothered with makeup, and wore Diamondback’s Baseball flannel pajama bottoms and a really large black t-shirt.

This guy was obviously desperate to pick up a woman or considered me desperate enough to have him.

WRONG!

Salesman.

He told me all about his product. It actually cured dementia and Alzheimer’s, opened your mind to endless possibilities, and would help me lose weight.

This great wonderful product goes by the name… you got it, marijuana. If I smoked it only once a month, my entire universe would be cured of all the ills affecting me.

I gave him the look, smiled, and said, “I’m a cop!”

If you’re wondering if he got away with it don’t worry. Just for the “weight” comment alone, I promise his body will never be found.

I’ll be back in Vegas next July and I’ll give everyone plenty of notice in case you’d like to tag along for some bad luck.

  1. August 28, 2013 at 11:25 am

    Contact high. So you know. Not second-hand. ;)

    Miss you lots and have been thinking of you. I know I more than owe you an email.

    By the by, didn’t I have the honor of being your first autograph, and didn’t I get it in the book I purchased? (I know these things because I always put my name and date in when I purchase a book.) You’ve come a long way, baby!

    Love you.

    • August 28, 2013 at 1:23 pm

      Yes Ruby, you were the first with an autographed copy. Oh, and I’ll never use the words second-hand smoke again in conjunction with MJ. You know how I always want to be politically correct! Love you too!!!

  2. August 28, 2013 at 11:31 am

    Oh, Suzy…what would we do without your adventures? :) So wish I could be in Vegas to meet you!

    • August 28, 2013 at 1:24 pm

      Umm, July 2014, you’re an author, you can be there. Mysteries and paranormal were huge at this conference :-)

  3. August 28, 2013 at 1:34 pm

    You look great!

    • August 28, 2013 at 1:44 pm

      Oh GIRL, where have you been? Is this old home week or what? First Ruby now you. I miss you both! I will admit to being the prettiest blonde in the picture!

      • August 28, 2013 at 1:55 pm

        Hahaha!

        I know, I know. Have been working and working and working and stuff. But I’m back now and happy you’re here, too.

        You have been really missed, sister friend!

  4. August 28, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    Are your books available on Kindle? I have a visual disability and my Kindle has saved me. :) Do you ever plan to come to Los Angeles?? Your stories always make me smile. Fun post.

  5. Heather Cobb Wynn
    August 28, 2013 at 3:16 pm

    as usual, still loving your posts!!

  6. August 28, 2013 at 4:36 pm

    Oooo, should I come to Vegas to see you next July??

    • August 28, 2013 at 4:52 pm

      YES! You even need to ask???

      • August 29, 2013 at 2:06 pm

        which conference is it, Suzie??

      • August 29, 2013 at 2:35 pm

        It’s the Romance Novel Convention (RNC) 2014. I don’t have info yet but I can let you know when I do.

      • August 30, 2013 at 4:59 pm

        lovely!! please do.

  7. lulu
    August 28, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    I was chuckling at your Vegas adventures. I think there is the making of a book there. A cop’s adventures/misadventures in Vegas. So much of Vegas is on the edge – it would be a juxtaposition. Congrats on the book signing.

    • August 29, 2013 at 6:52 am

      Thanks Lulu. I definitely see this in one of my books. I think I would need to go back and do further research first though :-)

      • Lulu
        August 29, 2013 at 5:25 pm

        Definitely – probably quite a few times. Need help?? :-)

      • August 29, 2013 at 5:29 pm

        OF COURSE!

  8. August 29, 2013 at 11:34 am

    Now some might consider the possibility of “a second-hand induced high” as good luck! Sounds like you had a great time in Vegas. Glad to know the next Bad Luck book is in the queue.

    • August 29, 2013 at 11:56 am

      I’ve been admonished and the politically correct way of saying it is “contact high” :-) The Vegas experience will come in a much later book but yes, Bad Luck in Small Town is in the queue!

      • August 29, 2013 at 4:23 pm

        I’m doing a happy dance!

  9. August 29, 2013 at 11:59 am

    Girlfriend, I’ve missed you and your WICKED sense of humor (ha ha — his body never being found)…. Loved every word you wrote and am so proud of you for signing the right pen name to each book. The signing sounds like it was a blast.

    It is SUCH a small world, isn’t it – that you’d see someone you arrested in Vegas. Wow. (And as for the ‘feeling naked without your gun’ – I can empathize with your apprehension. Now that I run with Rita Ruger — to ward off the mt. lions — I feel naked without her, too).

    Hope we can get together in the fall!

    • August 29, 2013 at 12:27 pm

      “Rita Rugar” Love the name. This fall it is!!! AND… I’m signing at the Tucson book festival next year :-)

      • August 30, 2013 at 7:29 am

        Oh, YAY. And I’ll be at TFOB next year! Double yay. We’ll have so much fun.

  10. Pierre Dickson
    September 1, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    Keep it in Vegas….lol. :-)

  11. Donna
    September 22, 2013 at 8:50 am

    I hooted while reading about your encounters with your two “buds.” I was reminded that I had your first Fang Chronicles book on my Kindle app that I needed to finish reading. So I did. Then I headed to Amazon and got the remaining three. Girl. I am currently reading the last one. I love that you have two completely different genres. How are the other book(s) coming along? Hope all is good in Small Town!

    • September 22, 2013 at 10:52 am

      All is great in Small Town, I’m writing in between everything else in life. It’s wonderful to hear from you and I hope life is good for you too!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,245 other followers

