Home > Stories From Small Town > Lesbians In Blue

Lesbians In Blue

If you’ve been reading my blog, you know I try to keep things light. I use this space to remind myself that policing has funny moments and it helps me de-stress. Sometimes though, I need to rant. So here’s that rant Suzie Ivy style.

Small towns notoriously live off rumors. It doesn’t matter if they are hurtful or so farfetched as to be unbelievable, they will never stop. The picture you see of the two women holding hands is believed to be that of sisters. I wonder what the consensus would be today if I was in a picture holding my sister’s hand?

Small Town now has its second female officer. I was the first so we are definitely progressing. Denise Bullock is twenty-five years old, a divorced single mother and a wonderful officer. There has been a rumor floating around town that she is a lesbian. I’m being asked about it constantly and defend her whenever I have the opportunity.

This made me think…why am I defending something that is no one’s business? Do I care who she sleeps with? If she was a lesbian would it make her an incompetent cop? No and no.

I think Officer Bullock’s rumor started because she works hard and then goes home to be with her two small children. She mows her own lawn and repairs her own plumbing. Right now she seems happy in her life without a man. Go figure, she must be gay.

I don’t care if my back up officer sleeps with men or women. I love them because they put their life on the line, protect our town and protect the officer beside them. There are many gay men and women in policing. I am honored to serve with you.

I also extend this to our servicemen and women in the military. Thank you for risking your life for our great country. May God bless and keep you safe. (End of rant).

On the lighter side, Officer Bullock has one failing. She killed an emu her first week on the job. It had escaped from its pen and was running the streets of Small Town. Calls were coming in left and right, an emu had run amuck.

Officer Bullock was in trouble. The academy sadly lacks training in Emu capture. They also don’t explain that they are delicate birds and die easily when stressed. The poor bird dropped dead about a mile into the chase.

All Officer Bullock could say was, “I swear I didn’t shoot.”

Tweedy Bird is now her nick name.

Welcome to Small Town Officer Bullock. May the rumors fly because that poor dead bird never will.

Detective Ivy signing off

P.S. I know emu’s don’t fly. It just sounded good!

  1. August 19, 2011 at 8:40 am

    “Right now she seems happy in her life without a man. Go figure, she must be gay.” [Smiling a knowing smile, shaking head side to side] Oh Suzie Ivy.

    • August 19, 2011 at 2:37 pm

      That incredible job is waiting for you, so get back to work and good luck!

  2. August 19, 2011 at 8:48 am

    Great post. Sisters as lesbians. Good grief. I recall the Wilson sisters suffered the same nonsense over Heart’s DREAMBOAT ANNIE album cover. BTW–though you may already know–Greg Rucka wrote a terrific lesbian police officer during his run on DC Comics’ GOTHAM CENTRAL and DETECTIVE COMICS.

    • August 19, 2011 at 8:52 am

      Thank you, I’ve never been a comic reader but I must find one of those. I would love to put it in my office.

  3. August 19, 2011 at 9:12 am

    Great Post-love your sense of humor!

  4. teresalwatts
    August 19, 2011 at 9:13 am

    Hi Suzie
    Please give Officer Bullock a message from me. “Good for you.” I have admiration for women who put their children first. I just wrote about this sort of thing on my Meandering Blog. When I was raising my children I didn’t have time for a social life. A full time job, kids, and a house to run. Socializing didn’t fit.
    Divorce is difficult when the children are small. She has a lot of discovering of herself to do, she doesn’t need someone else there interrupting it.
    And married women mow their own lawns and fix their own plumbing, it’s the ability of what we can do. It’s not just a lesbian thang?? Really.
    Regardless of sexual preference, it doesn’t have anything to do with your day to day life and what you put first. Boggles me every time.

    As for the Emu – Well that’s the risk you take when you break from the pen.

    All the best

    • August 19, 2011 at 9:36 am

      Thank you Teresa and you’re right. I’ve been married for 30-years and have done my fair share of plumbing. I’m lucky though because my husband is a grass guru and won’t let me touch his lawn. For anyone interested Teresa’s Blog is at http://teresalwatts.com

  5. teresalwatts
    August 19, 2011 at 9:59 am

    Thank you, Suzie. Around my house, if I don’t do it I have to hire someone to – and i”m cheap – so I do a lot

  6. Christine Grote
    August 19, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    I don’t know why people do that to others. And I’m with you, who’s business is it anyhow?

    Too bad about the emu. I’ll bet that ruffled somebody’s feathers.

  7. Suz
    August 19, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    Awesome post, Suzie! So true on every point. And let me guess: she’d pretty, too, right? All a woman has to do to get the rumor mill cranking, is be pretty and/or competent.

  8. August 21, 2011 at 10:08 am

    I’m sorry to hear about the emu. What a tragedy! But so funny at the same time… 😀

  9. woacf
    August 22, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about Tweedy Bird’s hardship. I agree. It shouldn’t be a topic of discussion but people will pick at whatever is available for the sake of something to pick at. TB just provided material to work with so hopefully, her orientation will no longer be on the menu to gossip about?

  10. Natalie
    September 14, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    How ridiculous. I don’t understand the need for people to find or invent fault with anyone that they can see as a “public” figure. If she did have a boyfriend (or girlfriend), I’m sure there would be talk about her promiscuity and her neglect for her children. Kudos for her for doing it all, and from the sound of it, doing it better than most.

    While you’re talking about hurtful rumors…my father has been a deputy for almost 30 years in the same rural Midwest county. A little less than 20 years ago, a young woman was beaten and killed while working an overnight shift at a convenience store, and to this day the case is unsolved. It took a few years for it to get around to me, but there has been a persistent rumor that my father was having an affair with this woman and killed her to keep her quiet.

    Nevermind that the only reason she was associated with him was because she was a school friend of my stepmother’s. Nevermind that we, his entire family, were home with him that night until he got the call. Nevermind that he wasn’t involved in the investigation so would have had no way to “cover up” his involvement. Nevermind that a few years later, a sheriff from a totally different part of the state won election on a promise to solve the case, and came up with nothing. And nevermind that there is not one single shred of evidence that supports the rumor.

    Even so, he and any other officers that had regular contact with her–and there were several, because of the location and hours of that store–were questioned by the state’s Department of Criminal Investigations, and cleared. There were also private detectives involved. (To my knowledge, he’s never even been investigated for any type of misconduct, much less excessive force. If he had, I’m almost certain I would have heard about it from someone else if it didn’t come from him first, but I’m willing to admit I could be wrong about that.)

    Please, spare me the, “Everyone always thinks it their loved one isn’t capable of violence until it’s proven,” crap. My father is very human and has many flaws that I am more than aware of. However, infidelity and/or worrying about what others think of him (creating the need to “cover up” this “affair”) are not included in that list. Several times in my life I have been “let in on” this rumor by someone who didn’t realize whom the deputy they were speaking of actually was. This has happened at least once in a town several hundred miles from the town where this occurred. I guess I should be glad that he doesn’t care what other people think of him, because it bothers me enough for both of us.

    (Sorry, it wasn’t my intention to take off on such a tangent. Evidently I was in need of a good rant!)

    • September 14, 2011 at 6:43 pm

      I don’t mind your rant at all. Your father has dedicated 30 years of his life and sadly the rumors will probably out live him. I’m glad to hear he does not let these misguided words affect his job. My daughters have also been witness to false information given about me. I beg them not to get arrested for kicking the unlucky gossiper’s ass. So far, so good. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

  11. September 18, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Oh no, poor emu. If you don’t have emus you wouldn’t know that they are the sweetest things on earth. I have two boys and they are just sweethearts. When I have a conversation with Louis he plays with my bangs. Try that with a chicken. Actually, the easiest way to capture an emu is to get them into a corner. Straddle them from behind and hold onto their little wings and walk them where you want them to go. Emus can run 40 miles an hour but they cannot walk backwards, just forward and sideways. If stressed, they can die suddenly. Be calm with them and don’t make sudden moves. Don’t try to pick them unless you know what you are doing because they can kick hard enough to break your ribs. They will only do that if they feel threatened. Get a couple of emus. Life will never be the same. You can see my boys in action on my blog.

  12. September 19, 2011 at 8:00 am

    Thank you Suzie Ivy!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

