Home > Bad Luck Update > The Bad Luck Boss – Update

The Bad Luck Boss – Update

Life has been changing at Small Town PD. I’ve complained of budget cuts and so on but we finally realized something had to give. Our officers were facing burnout and complete dissatisfaction with a job we needed to at least like.

I’m now back in uniform, working nights and having a blast. I’ve been given my own squad and I love every minute of it.

When my Police Chief offered me the position it came with the title of Sergeant. I was ecstatic. I could see it in lights, “The Bad Luck Sergeant.”

Four weeks ago, I started as the acting supervisor for Squad “B”. I have a great team and they have bent over backwards to get my street smarts up to par. During the past three years, I’ve filled in for daytime patrol but night duty and the traffic beat are a different story. I’m now practicing night shooting, clearing abandoned buildings and learning to work with a team. Awesome doesn’t quite describe it.

Unfortunately, our city council sees no reason to give me a promotion to fit my new job description and they have final say. I was left with a dilemma.

Police Departments are a paramilitary organization. Title and rank hold power.

I’ve never been a typical cadet, officer or detective. It looks as if I won’t be a standard supervisor either. I spoke to my squad and they all said to hell with it. They have begun calling me “boss.” I’m so thankful for their attitudes and willingness to follow me without stripes on my shoulder. Squad B rocks!

Jim is now my squad car partner. We will ride together for two months and then I will join another officer on my team. I’ve never worked with Jim and we were both a bit leery. Detectives are notoriously known for their laziness. Jim’s first words to me when I joined him in his car were, “We can look at frogs and rabbits all night or we can do some real police work.” These past two days Jim and I have arrested ten people. This has involved three DUI’s, a high speed car chase ending with the driver running on foot, Jim tackling and me Tasing. We’ve also had a drunken brawl and an idiot trying to sell a bag of marijuana at the corner store parking lot. The jail booking officers just shake their head and ask how many.

Jim’s best quality is his K-9 sidekick Astro.

Astro is a black lab trained to sniff out drugs. He is beautiful, courageous and smart. With Astro’s help, I landed my first major cocaine bust two weeks ago.

Astro loves Tasers. Not the volts but the laser light. He chases the light around the squad room playing his K-9 version of search, pounce, and destroy. The guys thought it hilarious when they pointed the laser up my leg to about thigh level. Astro took me to the ground flat on my ass. The laughter continued for an hour. I guess it’s a guy thing.

I’ve spent this past week working with my own dog Charlie. She’s a one hundred and sixty pound Rottweiler that can only sniff out food. I give her treats for chasing the laser light. I’m having a squad barbeque next weekend. Charlie and I are ready. It will be hard but I’ll try to resist pointing my laser at certain male anatomy. I swear.

My chief has told me not to give up hope. He’s planning to bring my position back before the city council. He’s been talking one on one with the council members and trying to swing things our way. I’ve decided The “Bad Luck Boss” doesn’t sound so bad and I’m willing to wait. As long as my team sticks together, we can handle anything.

PS. The picture above is Charlie on my king size bed. She’s the size of a moose with the demeanor of a bunny rabbit.

Sergeant Boss Ivy signing off

Categories: Bad Luck Update
  1. September 4, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    Beautiful Charlie-girl! We’ve had three Rotties in past, all intimidating in appearance but complete wusses. Our current dog is a 120-lb mix of Shepherd, Husky and Great Dane…also named Charlie (when not being referred to as moron!). His pic is here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/64352116@N03/5875218614/. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for your promotion, boss…have fun in the meantime and stay safe!

    • September 4, 2011 at 12:57 pm

      I love your Charlie, he’s gorgeous. This is our fifth Rottweiler and I’m in love with the breed. Mine looks mean but she loves everyone including other dogs. She was raised by my Chihuahua who remains the boss. I have to kick Duchess away from Charlie’s food dish because she makes Charlie cry. Someday I’ll post a video on YouTube.

  2. September 4, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    Suzie! I LOVE how you are turning lemons into lemonade. Truly, that’s what makes you so special and such a great addition to this team. But dang it – why is it so hard for you to get what you deserve in this town? I know, I know … small town … small minds… “The way it’s always been done.” I’m so glad your squad supports you and respects you, though – and that you have such a positive outlook about this new phase of your career. And what fun to have your own police dog, too. Moose is about right. I laughed my ass off at your comment about the laser pointing at male anatomy…. DO let us know how that goes! Hope the writing is going well, too.

    • September 4, 2011 at 1:06 pm

      Being the first female cop in Small Town has been an uphill battle from the start but I love pushing narrow minds to their limit. I plan on being Chief one day and that will be the real battle. They don’t have a chance:-) I’m mostly editing the three books I’ve finished, blah!

  3. Suz
    September 4, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    It’s a tough world for a dedicated worker. The PTB’s will get as much out of you as they can, for the least pay and status the can get away with offering. In a department like yours though, your colleagues recognize your worth, and that can be worth more than a raise or a title. So is doing the work you love. It kinda stinks that you may not get the promotion you deserve, but it could be so much worse. I really like your attitude. Oh, and I LOVE your beautiful dog!!

    • September 4, 2011 at 1:18 pm

      . Thank you, I never forget how lucky I am to have my job and feeding Charlie is not cheap.

  4. September 4, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    Bad Luck Boss… I like it!! Congrats Suzie on the promotion without the title!! I have no doubt you will make it work. You always do. And hey where is the fun and the challenge in taking the traditional easy route?

    Charlie is one big beautiful beast! And he looks like the king of his world on that bed. I hope he doesn’t snore.

    That video of Charlie and the Duchess sounds like it would be hysterical! Hope you post it soon!

    • September 5, 2011 at 9:01 am

      My husband won’t let Charlie on the bed when he’s in it but she loves sleeping with me during the day. Everytime I move and it looks as if I might wake up, I get a wet kiss on the face. As you can see, she’s also a bed hog. I’m sure snoring will come with age but so far so good.

  5. September 4, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    “Sniff out food”- this is awesome! Worth putting in her doggie resume under “skills and qualifications” 🙂 . We have German sheperds in local PDs, love those dogs!
    Please, keep posting often, you do have what it takes to be a delightful writer. When are you books coming out? I’m looking forward to reading them.

    • September 5, 2011 at 8:56 am

      You always make me feel good! I’ve completed three books. Book 1 is Bad Luck Cadet with about 20,000 more words than I posted on my blog. It’s undergoing some heavy editing but I’m shooting for Jan. 1. Book 2 Bad Luck Officer is finished but editing has not begun. Maybe mid 2012. Then I’ve written a vampire romance (Don’t hate me. I love reading them because they take my mind completely off reality). The editing is almost finished. I’m hoping for Jan 1 or earlier. Your comments help me keep my fingers on the keyboard, thank you!

  6. September 7, 2011 at 9:44 am

    You’re amazing.

  7. October 4, 2011 at 7:40 am

    First time here. Awesome blog and great post. Well done.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

