Home > Bad Luck Update > Bad Luck Update: Baby, Goodbyes, Holiday Sirens, PoliceOne and Typos

Bad Luck Update: Baby, Goodbyes, Holiday Sirens, PoliceOne and Typos

Baby: Hi everyone, I’m posting from Tennessee where my newest grandchild has entered the world. He has done little but sleep so taking pictures of him with open eyes is nearly impossible. He’s tiny, calm and perfect — like all my grandchildren. The older ones have grown out of the tiny and calm stages but PERFECT holds true.

I’m being told Small Town is doing fine without me. As with most things, I’m trying to look on the bright side, but if the department was a mess, it would mean better job security.

Goodbyes: The day I return to work will be a farewell to two of our officers. I will be losing Jim (my partner) and Astro (his K-9). It’s very sad but small towns notoriously underpay officers and Jim has decided he needs more money for his growing family. We have lost some of our best cops to this circumstance. If we don’t lose them early we lose them as well trained officers towards the end of their careers. In Arizona, retirement is paid based on a percentage of our highest three years of income. Working with Jim and Astro has been one of the highlights of my career.

Holiday Sirens: I have been invited to participate in a group called Holiday Sirens. We write police related books and blogs. All of us are being interviewed on Stacy Eaton’s Blog, to celebrate the holidays. Stacy is an officer as well as a wonderful police procedural fiction writer. Everyone involved is at least one of the two. I’ll announce more when I’m given an exact date, which will be sometime in December. I’ll be writing a guest blog post for this adventure as well.

Police One: I signed up for the PoliceOne online magazine the first week I became an officer. They have great articles about policing. They also host BLUtube.com, where I and my fellow officers watch police related videos. If this interests you, please click their link and take a look.

Typos: Last Friday, I received a Tweet from my friend, Natasha (Wicked Little Pixie, is her Blog). The conversation went something like this:

WLP – Smexy Books (online book review blog) called your book, Bad Lick Cadet. Wrong genre 😉
Me – That is truly awesome! Wrong genre but hey, I’ll take all the publicity I can get!
WLP – *snickers* you can always write…no please don’t LOL
Me – You know, Sergeant Dickens probably tastes bad. Bad Lick works
Smexy Books – haha sorry ( Lick, Luck …it was still REALLY good and funny)
WLP – Laughing out loud! Best typo of the day
Smexy Books – *snicker* I’m so embarrassed
Me – Don’t be, I’m going to blog about this:-)

I’ve also decided, just for Smexy (click here for her blog) to re-write one of the scenes from Bad Luck Cadet for her. The bold and italic text are my “Smexy” revisions.

Bad Lick Cadet – Chapter 3

“Sgt. Big Dick,” I said to Rocco with feeling, “Is a gorgeous man and I have an uncontrolled need for him.
I was grabbed by the arm and spun around. Sgt. Dickens stood there, eyebrows arched. He had never looked sexier.
“I will see you immediately in my office!”
Rocco gave me a look of complete terror. I gave him a small push in the direction of the dorms and immediately turned myself in the direction of Sgt. Dickens’ office and began marching. This was like being in high school all over. I was forty-five years old but my hormones were running wild. I swore I would not give into my lustful needs.
Sgt. Dickens was staring at his computer and waited about five minutes before speaking to me. I knew this drill. Sexual anticipation at its finest.
His voice was low when he finally spoke, “Why are you here Cadet Ivy?”
Was he serious? Our mutual attraction had been simmering for three weeks now.
He went on, “You are too beautiful to be at this academy, I can’t get you out of my mind. All day every day, I think about nothing but the texture of your skin and your beautiful breasts, which I have not seen and can only dream about.”
I believed him. My stomach was a quivering mass of jelly, but I looked him straight in the eye.
I’m not willing to risk my future as an officer because of our feelings. This is important to me and our desire for each other will wait.”
He shook his head and told me I would have ten personal hill runs on Monday. He then dismissed me. I didn’t cry, at least not until I was in my car and heading home.
I realized I had completely forgotten I was married.

Okay, truth here, does anyone feel I might be able to sell more books with this version? I realize I need to change my age to be at least fifteen years younger but I’m willing. And just so you know, my husband laughed as I read this to him over the phone.

Thank you Smexy Books for giving me something to blog about while I’m on vacation and will you please, please, please review Bad Luck Officer when it comes out on January 13th?

Categories: Bad Luck Update
  1. November 13, 2011 at 9:04 am

    Congrats on the beautiful grandbaby! And again LOL!

    • November 13, 2011 at 9:45 am

      Thank you! He is beautiful but I’m leaving him today:-(

  2. Suz
    November 13, 2011 at 9:34 am

    Writing trashy novels to supplement your low-paying “day job?” I think you’re on to something – I’d read them!

    congrats on the beautiful baby boy!

    • November 13, 2011 at 9:49 am

      I have written a vampire novel, it may fall in the trashy category but it’s meant to be a romance. Will be out next year so I’ll hold you to that!

  3. November 13, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Congrats on the beautiful Grandbaby. Keep on writing! 😉

    • November 13, 2011 at 3:30 pm

      Thank you, just left him and sitting in the airport trying to hold back tears. So hard to live far away. Your comment makes me feel better.

  4. Supreme Burrito
    November 13, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    Ivy,
    For those of us who know Sgt “Big Dick”….I think I just threw up in my mouth a little bit…you are wrong on so many levels! Love it.

    Supreme Burrito

    • November 13, 2011 at 3:29 pm

      Yes, I admit it was in very sick taste. I know he would never see the humor so that makes it even better:-)Haven’t heard from you in a while, Class Leader Big Burrito, what have you been up to?

  5. November 13, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    Wow! I’m impressed at how easily you changed the whole tone and focus of that section of the story. Seriously funny, Suzie! Congrats on the new grandson and to mom and dad too! He’s beautiful!!!

    • November 13, 2011 at 8:13 pm

      Thank you. I got carried away in writing and had to delete a lot. I couldn’t shock my readers that much but it was fun:-)

  6. November 13, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    Very very happy for all your family, enjoy… I’m loking forward to see my grandkids too…someday…GOd bless the little one and his parents. Take care…

    • November 13, 2011 at 8:11 pm

      I wish you luck so you can see them soon. I do have some I live near and they are wonderful.

  7. TeakWoodKite
    November 13, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    Awww! God speed to the grandchild. Now if only the parents were rational. 🙂

    • November 13, 2011 at 8:10 pm

      If they were rational, they would have let him go home with me. Babies fly free.

  8. November 15, 2011 at 4:41 am

    I’m glad you’re enjoying your time with all of your grandkids. Your newest looks so super-snuggly, please give him an especial snuggle from Ruby (I like best when they’re still tiny enough that I can lay back a little and hold them on my chest, till they fall asleep with their bitty heads on my left shoulder).

    That being said, you need to post more. You’re really good for my mental health, no exaggeration. Even before I got to your super-funny rewrite, I was feeling better.

    Continue to enjoy your family, and safe travels. 🙂

    • November 15, 2011 at 8:59 am

      As great as this vacation has been, I’m ready to be back home in my own bed. I want to catch up on reading blogs, write till my fingers hurt and even get back to work. I’ll stop by your blog and say hi as soon as life returns to semi-normal:-)

  9. November 15, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    Smutifying your writing will amp up the appeal for some folks, lick-ity split! I have to get your book now and read it LICK-ity split myself. I just like saying “lick” and I am infinitely funny in my own head.

  10. November 19, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    Congratulations on your beautiful grandson! He’s so adorable 🙂
    Too bad about Jim and Astro leaving – they need you in charge! I clicked on your Facebook page btw, looks great!

  11. hotinhereblog
    December 14, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    I am so enjoying getting to know your blog. I was still chuckling at this post when I read post #7 by Supreme Burrito and I laughed so hard at my laptop that my husband gave me the “yep, she’s crazy alright” look again.

    • December 14, 2011 at 7:47 pm

      I think we are both crazy and that’s why we like each others blogs!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

