Home > Bad Luck Officer, Stories From Small Town > A.K.A. Also Known As

A.K.A. Also Known As

bad-luck-officer4I need lights and sirens to announce this *** Bad Luck Officer*** is complete. It will publish on March 15th.

Early feedback for Bad Luck Officer has been wonderful (special thanks to Ruby). I hate editing and it continues to be my nemesis. If it wasn’t for my mother and friend Linda, this book would never see daylight. Their criticism and grammar corrections make me look good. This book was a team effort.

I have plans to release my Small Town blog posts later this year. Please don’t get too excited because if you’re reading this you’ve probably read them. It will be titled Bad Luck in Small Town. The only thing I plan to add is a common theme throughout but I’m not sure what (yet). I have a few homicides under my belt so I may use one of them as the backdrop. I’m also thinking about Bad Luck Detective and hoping to type the first chapter sometime in the next few months.

I published the following post on Blogher and decided to share it here…

In law enforcement, we run a criminal history search on all felony cases. When I see a suspect with a.k.a.’s, I know I have a shady character. Fraud cases are the most prevalent but violent suspects are also known to use multiple names. I’ve lately wondered, if I had ever committed a crime, and my rap sheet was viewed, what would it look like today?

Back when I was in seventh grade, there was a tween I worshipped. She had dark brown eyes, a thin and muscular body and a name I fell in love with. She was a gymnast, on the cheerleading squad and incredibly popular. I moved away halfway through eighth grade and never knew what happened to her. She never knew me and we never spoke.

I carried her along by signing my daughters up for gymnastic classes. Little did I know, my world would revolve around competitive gymnastics for many years, as my one daughter excelled. She (my daughter) retired from the sport at age 16, to start a part-time job in a veterinarian office, which was her dream. And my life continued…

Many people don’t know this, but I owned an independent bookstore in Phoenix for many, many years, and finally sold it in 2002. Books were my life and I knew, one day, I would be a writer. I also had one childhood dream that I never thought would be fulfilled. During my freshman year of high school, an appointment was made for me to visit my guidance counselor. The big question she asked, “What are your career goals?” This was 1975. I told her I wanted to be a police officer.

Her response, which I will never forget, “That’s not a job for women, pick something else.” So, with a broken heart, I did. As most of my readers know, I went into law enforcement at age 45. I like to describe it as a lark but it really wasn’t. It was a long forgotten dream that I needed to fulfill in my life. Two years later, I began writing. I like to say, I never look back, but I do.

I think about seventh grade and those beautiful big brown eyes that I envied. When I had to pick a pseudonym to write under (it’s frowned upon for law enforcement to write police blogs) I could only think of one name, Suzie Ivy. My eyes are blue, I have blond hair and these are the things I no longer want to change. But, I have an awesome writing name and for that, I thank the seventh grade girl who never knew me. What ever happened to the real Suzie Ivy? I don’t know but this one loves life, family, career and writing. Thank you Suzie for inspiring me, I hope your life has been as rich and fulfilled as mine!

  1. Suz
    March 4, 2012 at 8:50 am

    What a cool story! And hey, you’re a cop! Look her up! (yeah yeah, I know, they have rules about that sort of thing…)

    • March 4, 2012 at 9:49 am

      I’ve checked on Classmates.com but never found her. Maybe a little more, on the side, “legal” digging is needed.

  2. March 4, 2012 at 9:12 am

    Maybe your stories are like fine wine – they needed the time to mature. Whatever. Don’t stop – I’m hooked. May even buy the full price ones instead of being a Kindle cheap-skate!

    • March 4, 2012 at 9:47 am

      You are too funny. Please be cheap. I am! The new book will be $2.99 and will not be free for a year. A friend is trying to talk me into a print version. I’m thinking of combining books 1 & 2 and maybe release in print when book 3 comes out. I just know I’m too cheap to by the print edition 🙂

  3. March 4, 2012 at 10:17 am

    Great news on your book. Congratulations.

    • March 4, 2012 at 12:07 pm

      Thank you, Smiles and hugs your way { 🙂 }

  4. March 4, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    What a beautiful story! I, too, hope the real Suzie, wherever she may be, has found the fulfillment you have…and that one day your paths cross again. Congrats on the upcoming release, my friend, and may it bring you every success! 🙂

    • March 4, 2012 at 6:46 pm

      Wouldn’t crossing paths be incredible?

  5. March 4, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    Love the story, LOVE the cover. Fingers crossed for your release!

    • March 4, 2012 at 6:50 pm

      Thank you Ellie, I just checked your book on Amazon but it hasn’t posted yet. I will give it a couple of days and check again. It’s funny because I’ve talked about your book at work and everyone wants to know if I’ve read yet. I’m surrounded by non-readers so they just want me to tell them the story. 🙂

  6. March 4, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    Excited!

    • March 5, 2012 at 6:23 am

      Thanks Meghan, the 10 day countdown starts today 🙂

  7. March 4, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    Wow, Suzie. I am SO happy for your book successes – and I think it’s a GREAT idea to turn your blog posts into another book. You are on a ROLL. And I can’t wait to see you use those pink handcuffs when I come up and do my citizen ride along! Woo hoo.

    And what FUN to learn how your pseudonym came about. It would be SO great if the real Suzie Ivy found your blog and commented!

    • March 5, 2012 at 6:22 am

      Hi Melissa, I will know my schedule for the rest of the month after today. We are getting together!

  8. March 6, 2012 at 11:15 am

    Oh, Suzie, you inspire me. You almost make me believe that I, too, could be a writer. *Smiling!* I am so very happy for you, and that you have made a success of your books. How awesome is that?!

    By the way, do you remember that I said on Denise’s blog that I could not find my Nook? Well, I have found it! I am hoping that hubby is able to buy and download your book today. 🙂

    You keep writing and we’ll keep reading.

    Love and hugs, and prayers for your safety,
    ~Virginia

    • March 6, 2012 at 7:30 pm

      Sorry to tell you (not really) but you are already a writer. I love your blog!

      • March 10, 2012 at 2:11 pm

        Thank you, Suzie, for the compliment. And just so you know, you inspire me to want to write more! 🙂

        Big hugs,
        ~Virginia

      • March 10, 2012 at 2:44 pm

        You have written 200 posts in a year, been featured on Blogher 7 times (I’m so jealous) and you are in the process of finishing your move. You place me in constant awe. I’m so incredibly fortunate to have you for a friend.

  9. March 6, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    Suzie, you are too sweet. But don’t thank me yet, I haven’t finished! I want to give you something really worth thanking me for (though of course you know I would never be dishonest).

    In any event, I am so, so happy you are getting to see your childhood dreams fulfilled. The success of your writing is so wonderful. Bravo. No one in this world deserves it more.

    Love to you, dearest Suzie.

    • March 7, 2012 at 5:23 am

      Stop that, it’s too early in the morning for me to be crying and I must work. The guys laugh at me when I come in with red eyes 🙂 Thank you Ruby and I expect nothing but the truth from you. That’s why I chose you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

