Home > Stories From Small Town > The 2012 Garbage Can Attack

The 2012 Garbage Can Attack

Summer is coming and school will be out soon. This means the teachers get a break and we (parents and police) work harder. Every year we have what’s known as the senior prank which happens in the weeks preceding graduation. Our police department waits with bated breath to see what this year’s class will come up with.

In a much earlier blog post, I mentioned the most famous of the dastardly deeds as being the great tire caper. Some industrious youths dropped tires over the tallest flagpole in town. Trying to figure out how the kids managed to scale the pole with large tires became an unsolved mystery for our department and the teenagers responsible never talked.

This season the PD kept vigilance throughout town in hopes of discovering a clue to this year’s follies. Well, we failed again and as much as the tire caper was legendary, I think the Class of 2012 topped it.

I was on my day off or I would have taken a picture of the display that greeted several of my fellow officers as they tried to overcome the laughter of every car driving past. During the night, more than three hundred garbage cans were placed five feet apart down our Main Street sidewalks on both sides of the road.

The stolen confiscated cans belonged to residents throughout town. Each police officer was chosen as a victim and only our trash receptacles were decorated with ribbons and signs.

Phone calls began flooding dispatch as early as 5 in the morning. Hundreds of residents went to place their large blue plastic bins on the side of the road for pickup and discovered themselves targets of the trash heist. The garbage company was notified and brought citizen records to identify each can number to its owner.
My Trash via Class 2012
I was informed at 7 am that I needed to come and get my garbage which I had placed out the evening before. No one has come forward as a possible witness and like years past “mum” is the word on the streets. I felt sorry for the duty officers having to sort and call everyone but I couldn’t help my laughter when I arrived to pick up my container.

Class of 2012, I bow to your industrious thinking and I’m not sure if this country is ready for how you will change the future one piece of garbage genius at a time, but I am. Congratulations!

  1. May 14, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    Your can looks suitably festive with its ribbons and sign. Is red a school color?

    Nice that they do things that are fun but harmless.

    • May 14, 2012 at 3:13 pm

      Yes, one of our school colors is red. The kids push the boundaries but I think that’s the biggest part of growing up. It also causes laughter every year and that’s never bad.

  2. May 14, 2012 at 6:18 pm

    The little stinkers (and I’m not talking about the garbage cans.) I’m sure a few in c/o 2013 are already contemplating their next caper. It is kind of funny. How long as this tradition been going on?

    • May 14, 2012 at 6:52 pm

      I’ve been here for more than ten years and I heard stories about previous senior pranks when I arrived. We have no door to door mail delivery and everyone in town has a P.O. box. The doors are always unlocked so you can get your mail anytime. My daughter’s class (2006) filled the post office with hundreds of live frogs. My daughter was home the entire night in her room and I would like anyone to prove differently.

      • May 15, 2012 at 8:26 am

        Quite believe daughter’s innocence – remember the phrase ‘as clever as a box of frogs’ Was them what done it!

      • May 15, 2012 at 9:51 am

        I always wondered about that phrase but now I get it. Thanks John.

  3. May 15, 2012 at 8:39 am

    Oh .. my goodness. This is way too funny! A ribbon tribute to you on a garbage can.. Love it!

    • May 15, 2012 at 9:52 am

      My garbage can will never be the same.

      • May 15, 2012 at 11:15 am

        Come to think about it, your job is more like ‘cleaning up the garbage,’ –the trash that people left behind 🙂 Yes?

      • May 15, 2012 at 11:18 am

        The perfect description!

      • May 15, 2012 at 11:16 am

        And an very honorable job!–Not anyone could do it …

  4. May 16, 2012 at 10:26 am

    I’m so glad you take this in stride, and see the humor in it. The first thing I thought was, “Oh, brother… what a mess getting the proper cans back to the proper people.” Three HUNDRED cans? Wow! They must have worked all night.

    • May 16, 2012 at 10:32 am

      I’m sure they did and I’m sure there were quite a few culprits involved. I am glad that I was on my day off 🙂

  5. May 22, 2012 at 12:46 am

    Hello, Suzie! Congratulations, you received The Versatile Blogger Award. Here is the link to my blog, please take a look: http://ladaray.wordpress.com/2012/05/22/i-received-the-versatile-blogger-award-vba/ As they say, with great honor comes great responsibility 🙂
    Cheers!

  6. Abbye Klamann
    May 25, 2012 at 9:13 am

    Hi, Suzie! First off, adore your blog, your writing style and your content. Would love to feature you as a Top 10 LEO Blog (Profiled blogs also have chance to win $2000 for charity of their choice). Any way I can get in touch with you to discuss further? Thanks, Abbye!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

