Home > Bad Luck Update > Bad Luck Update: Domestic Abuse, Pink Handcuff Tour, and Talk Radio

Bad Luck Update: Domestic Abuse, Pink Handcuff Tour, and Talk Radio

“Tis’ the season to beat your wife.”

This has been my before and after holiday slogan since becoming an officer. I don’t mean to be snappy or humorous. Domestic violence effects every economic group, gender, race, and religion. I’m no longer on patrol but I keep my ear to police traffic and backup fellow officers on domestic calls. In the first ten days of the year I’ve dealt with uncontrollable fighting brothers and a homicide/suicide threat with a lethal military knife. The brothers went to the hospital and the knife suspect went to jail, and no he was not a Veteran.

Our report log fills with domestic situations almost daily. I encourage my readers to get involved. Report domestic violence and learn about its impact on our children.

A few wonderful resources are:

Break the Cycle www.breakthecycle.org

Safe Horizon www.safehorizon.org

National Coalition Against Domestic Violence www.NCADV.org

Your gift can be as small as forwarding these links to someone in need and/or donating a used cell phone. Thank you!

SI Logo

T H E Tour!

Pink Handcuff Tour

I spent this past weekend on my couch with a box of Kleenex, hot herbal tea, and a stubborn head cold. I won’t call it the flu because I got my flu shot. My poor husband took care of the animals, cooked for me, and listened to me moan and groan through his birthday.

Whining like a baby didn’t keep me from being productive though. I managed to write 5,000 words on my next Bad Luck book, YEAH! I’m planning a summer release and also using my creativity to outline a pink handcuff tour. It’s in the early planning stages but here’s my idea.

I want to send my extra pair of pinkies (non-fur lined) to fellow readers and bloggers that think they can come up with fun photos using my pink cuffs. Sorry, no nudity allowed 🙂 I’ll post the pics on my blog and let readers choose the best one(s). The winner gets to keep the handcuffs and I’ll pony up a gift certificate to someplace like Amazon or Barnes & Noble. I’m stealing the idea from the Mr. Bacon tour but I don’t think he’ll mind. I would love to see what my blogging friends and readers come up with.

Put your creativity caps on and start thinking about what you could do with pink handcuffs and yes, I’ll be sending the keys too. Email me at: suzieivy at gmail dot com, if you want in.

Criminal Lines Radio

I’m very excited to announce that I will be the guest on Criminal Lines Radio this Thursday, January 17th, from 7 to 9 p.m. central time with host Marguerite Ashton. Click here and scroll to the bottom right of the page to listen. Who knows what I’ll be discussing but I promise to be fun and informative, or wacky and intense.

Here’s the wonderful video promo (I look like such a baby cop in my academy graduation photo):

http://youtu.be/ikmKdQ6Dvyw

To all my friends and LE officers; stay safe, wear your seatbelt, and smile at someone today,

Suzie

Categories: Bad Luck Update
  1. January 14, 2013 at 11:56 am

    My sympathies on the no-it’s-absolutely-NOT-flu. (It can’t possibly be flu. I got my shot too, and I don’t cringe whenever somebody turns a light on, and what’s more I can stand up without falling over – I just don’t feel like it right now.) Whatever it is, it’s certainly miserable, and not being able to sleep because you cough uncontrollably as soon as you lie down gets old real fast.

    • January 14, 2013 at 12:19 pm

      WOW, you said it so much better than I did!!!

  2. January 14, 2013 at 12:59 pm

    Yay! Can’t wait to read the next BL book!!

    You know I want in on the Pink Handcuff Tour. I can’t believe I’ve already come up with a perfect photo use. Sorry to hear about the head cold/flu. But at least you were productive. I think domestic violence is on the rise everywhere. I have an old cell phone I’ve been meaning to clean out and donate. Thanks for the reminder.

    • January 14, 2013 at 1:17 pm

      Yeah, about the cell phone. You’re quick mind coming up with the handcuff pic scares me 🙂

      • January 14, 2013 at 2:07 pm

        Ha! And no naked bodies involved either. Actually it is so great an idea that I’m now worried it has already been done.

      • January 14, 2013 at 2:30 pm

        Curiosity is eating me alive 🙂

  3. Donna
    January 14, 2013 at 5:35 pm

    Sorry you have had the crud, Suzie. Blech. Hope you are good to go and back to 100% soon. Flu has been hitting our area – hope it stays away from our house. Lysol is my friend! Very much looking forward to the book! Can’t wait to see the photos that are submitted for the Pink Handcuff Tour! Bet there will be some great ones! So glad you mentioned the phone donation. We probably have several around here that we would be glad to donate. Lookin’ forward to trying to listen to the radio show if our sad internet will allow.

    • January 14, 2013 at 6:15 pm

      The third link NCADV.org has step by step instructions on donating a phone. Thank you, thank you, thank you! I hope you get to listen Thursday 🙂

  4. January 14, 2013 at 9:01 pm

    Who can resist? I’m sending you an email (and lots of love)!

  5. Supreme burrito
    January 15, 2013 at 6:19 pm

    Hi Suzie,
    Great message which people always tend to assosiate with “trashy” people. I’ve seen equal shares of DV in million dollar homes as well as trailer homes. Usually, it’s an ongoing issue that even the neighbors are aware of, yet people don’t want to get involved. My saddest calls involved DV (and some of my funniest).
    By the way, I think you look Great in your academy pic and as I recall you were all smiles that day.
    Good luck on the 17th I know you will be great and can’t wait for the next book.
    By the way, I have a great idea for those cuffs but shipping to Singapore can be quite expensive!
    Stay safe mama.
    Supreme Burrito

    • January 15, 2013 at 7:29 pm

      You made my day!!! So wonderful to hear from you and I miss you! Law enforcement is minus one great cop with you out of the picture. I hope you and your family are doing wonderfully. I think of you often.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

