Home > Life In Blue > An Garda Siochana: Detective Adrian Donohoe Rest in Peace

An Garda Siochana: Detective Adrian Donohoe Rest in Peace

I meet so many incredible people online. I talk about you at work. I tell funny stories from comments on my blog and relay the Twitter conversations that make me smile. I’ve met police officers from around the world and learned about our differences but more than that, I learn what all my brothers and sisters in blue have in common. We are a worldwide family.

I spent this past Tuesday at the shooting range having a great time. For some reason though, it left me with a pinched nerve in my neck and a raging headache. No old age comments please. I don’t usually get headaches so I wasn’t very accommodating for the next few days while it ran its course.

But, I woke up Saturday feeling better and decided to catch up on the social media end of writing. I checked in with friends, read their Tweets, and read new blog posts.

I have a good police friend in Ireland who entertains me constantly with his humorous wit. His wife doesn’t think he’s quite as funny but it’s obvious he’s loved. I first noticed his Twitter avatar picture had changed and then I started reading the Tweets I’ve missed.

Jason’s Avatar

For my friend Jason, life has not been good and he’s in a rough place right now.

On Friday, an Irish police officer/detective tragically died. In Ireland they’re called “An Garda Siochana.” Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe, a father of two, was gunned down a half mile from his home as he tried to stop fleeing suspects during a robbery at a credit union in Co Louth.

Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe’s wife and two brothers are also An Garda Siochana and share the brother and sisterhood of the badge. From reading the articles about his life, Garda Donohoe and his family have dedicated their lives to protect the people they serve.

Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe

Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe

Regardless of the thousands of miles and great ocean separating our service, Detective Garda Donohoe wore a badge and I honor his life and sacrifice. My friend Jason’s sadness has no barrier when touching my heart and I grieve with him. For everyone who served with Detective Garda Donohoe, these next months will be incredibly difficult. Please stay safe!

To all Detective Garda Donohoe’s family, friends, and brothers and sisters in blue; may his memory bring you comfort, may his sacrifice make you proud and may you find peace in knowing we never forget those who give their lives to save others. Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe may you Rest in Peace.

The following links give additional information about this tragic story:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/tributes-paid-to-diligent-and-hugely-popular-officer-3367508.html

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0126/364604-garda-adrian-donohoe/

Categories: Life In Blue
  1. January 26, 2013 at 11:15 am

    My sympathies to Detective Garda Donohoe’s family and friends — and community! Heart breaking that it happened so close to home too.

    Guardians of the Peace – Sounds much more protective and sympathetic than police officer. Obviously as dangerous for the officers. But I wonder if in general they are perceived as much as adversaries as US police are?

    • January 31, 2013 at 6:12 pm

      I love the name Guardians of Peace.

  2. Donna
    January 26, 2013 at 11:39 am

    I am so sorry to hear this news. May his killer be found and brought to justice swiftly. Prayers to his family and all who knew him.

  3. January 26, 2013 at 12:03 pm

    A sad story indeed. You take care, Suzy.

    • January 31, 2013 at 6:11 pm

      Thank you. I always vest up and wear my seatbelt along with watching my six.

  4. January 26, 2013 at 7:50 pm

    Thank you for sharing this, Suzie. You giving us the life of this man and his family, filling in the details so that we know the man, it’s important. We will never think of him as just a statistic, he is a very real, living, breathing human who lost his life trying to keep ours safe — regardless of where we live.

    • January 31, 2013 at 6:10 pm

      Very well said Ruby, thank you!

  5. bjjs2022
    January 27, 2013 at 8:15 am

    So sorry to hear about this. I will be keeping his family in my thoughts.

  6. January 31, 2013 at 9:35 am

    It’s sad that our fraternity knows exactly what that gravitar pic means. God bless him & may Christ keep his family.
    Scott

    • January 31, 2013 at 6:09 pm

      Thank you Chief Siverii

      • January 31, 2013 at 6:50 pm

        For Sure Suzie, Thanks for picking me up on Twitter. I enjoy the Bad Luck Detective.
        Scott

      • January 31, 2013 at 7:06 pm

        It’s wonderful to see a police chief using social media. I checked out your website/Chief’s Corner today at work and I’m planning to show it to my chief as an example of what we could be doing.

  7. February 5, 2013 at 1:09 pm

    Thanks Suzie. You may have to use a billyclub, but whatever it takes to get him onboard.
    Scott

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

