Home > Retired Life in Blue > Suzie Is Back

Suzie Is Back

image_15

Vegas Convention June 2014

I really truly am. I actually think I might be more kickass than ever before! Some of you may have figured out that I’ve retired from the police force. This was a heartbreaking decision for me but due to life issues and the progress of my fiction writing it’s the right decision for me.

I had a goal when I graduated the police academy and that was to be an officer for ten years. Stopping two years short wasn’t easy and these last months have been a reassessment of my life. A funk took over and I closed myself away in my dark and murky writing cave.

I know you want to hear that I finished the next Bad Luck Book but I wasn’t ready to go there so I concentrated on fiction. A year ago, I added another aka (also known as) to my resume. Last week, my book “Play” written as Holly S. Roberts hit the USA Today Best-Seller List. My foray into darkness paid off and it’s been a whirlwind of excitement since seeing my book on the list. I will offer a warning that “Play” is a steamy romance about a hunky football quarterback and is intended for mature. You’ve been warned!

The picture above is a selfie from Vegas at RNC 2014 right before I gave my seminar on “How to Write a Female Detective Without High Heels.” I’ll be in Phoenix in October presenting the same improved version (a little more speaking time) if you want to join me. I’ll have more information for you soon and you don’t need to be a writer to enjoy the fun. If you have an interest in my fiction writing, I’ve combined my fiction blogs at wickedstorytelling.com. The Bad Luck Detective blog will remain active and always be about the men and women in blue.

Suzie

USA today play screen

How Cool is This?

Categories: Retired Life in Blue
  1. August 13, 2014 at 1:16 pm

    Awesome! Congrats Suzie/Holly! Looking forward to reading more Badluck at Uniform Stories!

    • August 13, 2014 at 1:19 pm

      Thank you Linda, I can’t wait and the first post in in the bag 🙂

  2. August 13, 2014 at 1:43 pm

    Awesome Suzie, Welcome Back!!!

    • August 13, 2014 at 1:53 pm

      Thanks Kathie!!! It feels wonderful to be back!

    • August 17, 2014 at 5:13 pm

      I love you Suzie Ivy – you are my hero! You are a role model for women everywhere who just need a little nudge to go out and live their dreams. You did it! Congrats on your book being on the USA Today Best-Seller List — that’s big!! Oh, and don’t tell anyone, but AHOP loves a good steamy romance novel (wink). I can’t wait to read it. Blessings always….and you look beautiful, by the way.

      • August 18, 2014 at 6:58 am

        I missed you Annie and talk about role reversal because you are one of my heroes too. Just seeing your name makes me smile. Every police department in the world needs an Annie and yours is so lucky to have you. Tell them hello for me.

  3. Rhonda
    August 13, 2014 at 9:10 pm

    Congratulations, what an accomplishment! Enjoy your new adventure and keep those creative juices flowing.

    • August 18, 2014 at 7:12 am

      Thanks Rhonda. It’s shutting them off that seems to be my problem. I’ll be staring off into space while my husband is talking and he’ll ask what story I’m working on. Bad Suzie, must stop that 🙂

  4. Paul.
    August 13, 2014 at 11:05 pm

    Congratulations on this next chapter in your life, hope it’s a happy, healthy and fruitful one for you!

    • August 18, 2014 at 7:10 am

      Thank you Paul. Life is wonderful!!!

  5. vijayaschartz
    August 14, 2014 at 10:54 am

    Sorry you had to leave the force, but very glad your writing is very much alive. Wishing you much success. Missed Vegas this year. Maybe next year. Love the picture. You look so relaxed and glowing.

    • August 18, 2014 at 7:09 am

      I missed you in Vegas Vijaya. It just wasn’t the same. I saw on FB that you have big changes in your life. We spoke about them on our last car ride. I’m so happy for you and admire your strength. We need to catch up soon. I will never forget taking our show on the road and Disney Land. I have a new seminar I’m giving and wouldn’t it be awesome to do it again!!!

  6. August 14, 2014 at 1:00 pm

    Congratulations on your retirement, here’s to the next chapter! And on Play being on the Best Seller’s list. That’s awesome! I’ll look forward to your contributions to Uniformstories.com too 🙂

    • August 18, 2014 at 7:06 am

      Thank you J, I’m so very excited about Uniform Stories.

  7. August 15, 2014 at 4:26 am

    HUGE congratulations on hitting the USA Today best seller’s. That’s wonderful. But so sorry about the funk. These life changes can be so hard — we’ve been through a few ourselves in the last year. Take care and so glad to see you back!

    • August 18, 2014 at 7:05 am

      It’s funny Julia because we fight change but usually when we come out the other side we’ve learned something valuable. I know for me the “fight” is hard to give up but gosh, embracing life and giving in just a bit has made me so much happier. “Oh the places I’ll go.” about covers it. I hope things settle down on your end too. {hugs}

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

