Home > Blue Humor, Life In Blue > What This Officer is Thankful For On Thanksgiving

What This Officer is Thankful For On Thanksgiving

turkey

The Thanksgiving Spirit

I love the holidays and always have. During my years on patrol, I worked every Thanksgiving and Christmas. I loved the cheerful smiles when citizens saw me out on holiday patrol. And, I missed these days after my promotion to detective.

I’ve been invited into people’s homes for dinner, handed gifts, and thanked numerous times for my service. If you know anything about me by now, you know lots of hugs happen on these days too. Maybe that’s why they will always hold special memories.

In 2005, my patrol car was fitted with a back cage for the first time. Why you may ask, wouldn’t a patrol car have a cage? Simple really… budget. I always worried someone I arrested would slip their cuffs and assault me from behind. So, in 2004, I was thankful for a cage.

In 2006, we received our first Tasers. Each morning I uniformed up and popped my Taser. This is a test to make sure it works properly. Every police officer loves the orgasmic sound a Taser makes. I was very thankful that year.

In 2007, due to seniority, I moved up to a new Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor. This baby could fly. It had all the bells and whistles including a cage and plastic seats in the back. So nice because when arrestees pee, vomit, or worse you can wash it out with a hose. That was a thankful year.

In 2008, I made detective and was transferred into an older unmarked Crown Vic. It went from zero to thirty in about ten minutes. Don’t feel sorry for me though, I was able to store my non-flattering uniforms away and wear comfortable casual clothes. I exchanged my clunky black boots for ones with a pointier toe and also took my hair out of a bun styling it in a bouncy ponytail. Out of everything that year, I was mostly thankful for weekends off and no more shift work.

In 2009, from September through the end of the year, I worked a missing child case that went from one missing boy to three dead at the hands of the same person. As Thanksgiving loomed closer, the FBI joined us and I learned a lot about teamwork. They also shared all their great toys that a small town detective can only drool over. As sad as this case was, it’s one of the highlights of my career in law enforcement. That year I was thankful that my family was in good health and safe.

From 2010 through 2013, police life was not as eventful as 2009 but my list of thanks was never-ending. I gained a new partner who came with a K9. I gained weight though that didn’t make the thankful category, and I gained an appreciation for the small things in life.

This year my list is filled to the brim. At the very top is a special thanks to my family and friends for supporting and believing in me.

Categories: Blue Humor, Life In Blue
  1. November 13, 2014 at 10:27 am

    And thank you for your service… because it seems like everything the police do now is being second guessed by everybody, and it seems like a hard enough job without that.

    • November 13, 2014 at 10:28 am

      And thank you very much for those special words!

      • November 13, 2014 at 10:30 am

        No… thank you very much… HA! I can do this all day.

      • November 13, 2014 at 10:39 am

        So can I and now I really appreciate that you made me laugh 🙂

      • November 13, 2014 at 10:47 am

        well… you have an important job and I have none… and I always answer every comment… that is why I have one post where we have over 35,000 comments… because I always get in the last word…

      • November 13, 2014 at 10:53 am

        I get it. Two type A personalities, we are totally screwed.

      • November 13, 2014 at 10:59 am

        We might end up in some sort of Doctor Whoey time vortex thingy.

  2. November 13, 2014 at 11:09 am

    Thankful for you my friend and that you stay safe! I can’t believe it is almost T-day!

    • November 15, 2014 at 8:07 am

      I’m so thankful for you too Linda, have a wonderful day!

  3. Pat
    November 13, 2014 at 11:33 am

    This really gives perspective on what is important. Thank you to everyone in uniform, police, fire or military. They are all protecting and serving us. Show your gratitude Thansgiving Day and everyday,

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

